Leadership

Pastor David Cummings and wife Martha

Pastor David Cummings and wife Martha

Pastor David Cummings

David has been the pastor of our church since April 1999. Following 20 years of church music ministry in KY, TN, and GA, he completed his M.Div. through New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary in 1995. He pastored one other church prior to coming to CBC. In addition to serving as our pastor, David serves part-time with Marketplace Chaplains, ministering in several businesses in the Valdosta area.

He and wife, Martha, have been married since 1979. They have three adult children, Robert Cummings and Rachel Cummings Bennett (Lance), who are in active ministry at Covenant, and Daniel Cummings, who lives in Macon. 

Elders

Michael Lee

Image 1.jpg

As a college freshman, Michael was confronted with the Gospel of Jesus Christ and realized his need for a relationship with Him.  During his college years God provided opportunities of discipleship through the Campus Outreach Ministry. Professionally, Michael’s career in the banking industry began in 1991.  He has served in leadership roles in two Southern Baptist Churches prior to joining with Covenant Baptist Church when he and his family moved to Valdosta in 2011.   He has a BS from Troy University, graduated from the Graduate School of Banking at LSU and completed studies at Birmingham Theological Seminary. He became an Elder of CBC in November of 2012.  Michael is married to Jody and they have 3 children, Colson, Mary Margaret and Sarah. 

Richie Setser

Setser Family.JPG

Richie has been an elder at CBC since Nov 2012. He was raised in a Christian home but was not converted until he was 26 years old while waiting for the beginning of the first Gulf War. He served seven years in the US Air Force and five years in the Air National Guard before separating from the military and beginning a flying career with United Airlines.  He has served as a deacon in another Southern Baptist Church for 13 years and has been a weekly Bible and doctrinal teacher for 16 years.  He has a BA from Valdosta State University. Richie is married to Kelle and they have two grown sons and one daughter-in-law.  

Mike Imamura

Mike has been an elder since the Summer of 2015. Contact: mimamura@covenantbapt.org

Jason Glas

Jason also has been an elder since the Summer of 2015.

Deacons

Under the oversight of the elders, this position is primarily an administrative office built to serve, meet the practical needs of the church and minister to the body.  We believe the body of deacons shall consist of godly men who meet the qualifications found in the Bible (1 Timothy 3:8-13).

 

Randall Bice

Building and Maintenance

rbice@covenantbapt.org

Brad Ridge

Communication

bridge@covenantbapt.org

Gene Rowell, Jr

Administration and Finance

Education

growell@covenantbapt.org

James Shaw

Building and Maintenance

Family and Outreach

jshaw@covenantbapt.org

Trevor Shaw

Communication

Worship Service

tshaw@covenantbapt.org

David Sims

Family and Outreach

dsims@covenantbapt.org

Lawton White

Administration and Finance

lwhite@covenantbapt.org

 

2016-11-22T08-34_10239398980 copy.jpg

Levi Fortner

Musical Worship Leader

lfortner@covenantbapt.org

 

ruiz.JPG

Michael Ruiz

Media and Information Technology

mike@covenantbapt.org

 

Lance and Rachel Bennett.jpeg

Lance Bennett

Media and Information Technology

lance@covenantbapt.org